Dr Andreas Schild Memorial Mountain Prize

Every year, the ICIMOD Mountain Prize is awarded to an individual, organization, or private sector entity based in the Hindu Kush Himalaya (HKH) or beyond for outstanding efforts in enabling sustainable and resilient mountain development in the HKH region to benefit the environment as well as communities – particularly the poor, the youth, and women.

Even 1.5 degrees is too hot for our mountains

ICIMOD Mountain Prize 2021

This year’s award recognizes the contributions that individuals and organizations made to the HKH mountains and its people during the COVID-19 pandemic.

In honour of the late Andreas Schild, the former Director General who played a significant role in shaping ICIMOD into the organization that it is today, the award has been renamed as the Dr Andreas Schild Memorial Mountain Prize. He will always remain in the hearts of many in the HKH whose lives he touched during his long and illustrious career.

The winners of the Dr Andreas Schild Memorial Mountain Prize were announced on 10 December in Kathmandu during the International Mountain Day celebrations.

This year’s award was shared by two winners – the Mahila Umang Producers Company of Uttarakhand, India, and Community Homestay Network of Nepal.

This year also saw two special honourable mentions – Gurunjur Welfare Organization of Ghizer District, Gilgit-Baltistan, Pakistan, and Samdrup Jongkhar Initiative of Dewathang, Bhutan

Read about the four outstanding mountain heroes in the press release.


Dr Andreas Schild Memorial Mountain Prize 2021 winner
Dr Andreas Schild Memorial Mountain Prize 2021 honourable mentions

Past ICIMOD Mountain Prize winners

2020 winner - Jagrati Swayam Sahayta Group, India
Learn more
2020 winner - Binod Shahi, Nepal
Learn more
2019 winner - Didar Ali, Pakistan
Learn more
2019 winner - The Chittagong Hill Tracts Development Board (CHTDB), Bangladesh
Learn more
2018 winner - Global Himalayan Expedition (GHE), India
Learn more