Who we are

Board of Governors

Our highest governing body is our Board of Governors, which consists of one representative from each of our eight regional member countries and independent members who are nominated by the ICIMOD Support Group based on their recognized professional expertise and experience. Serving on our ICIMOD Support Group are representatives from among the organizations and institutions providing us financial contributions.

Regional Board Members (as of October 2019)


Mr Mohammad Rafi Qazizada
Director General
Natural Resource Management
Islamic Republic of Afghanistan
Ministry of Agriculture, Irrigation and Livestock


Mr Md Mesbahul Islam
Ministry of Chittagong Hill Tracts Affairs
Bangladesh Secretariat, Dhaka
Government of the People’s Republic of Bangladesh


Dasho Rinzin Dorji
Ministry of Agriculture and Forests
Royal Government of Bhutan


Prof Zhang Yaping (Chairperson, ICIMOD Board of Governors)
Vice President, CAS
Chairman of CN-ICIMOD
Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS)


Mr Chandra Kishore Mishra
Ministry of Environment, Forests and Climate Change
Government of India


Dr Nyi Nyi Kyaw
Director General
Forest Department
Ministry of Natural Resources and Environmental Conservation
Union of Myanmar


Dr Puspa Raj Kadel
National Planning Commission
Government of Nepal


Dr Muhammad Hashim Popalzai
Ministry of National Food Security and Research
Government of Pakistan

Independent Board Members (as of October 2019)

Lyonpo Dr Kinzang Dorji (Chairperson, PAC and Vice Chairperson, ICIMOD Board of Governors)
Bhutan indigenous Games and Sports Association (BIGSA)

Prof Dr Juergen P Kropp
Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research
Dept. Chair Research Domain II: Climate Impacts & Vulnerabilities
Head: Climate Change & Development

Dr Yanfen Wang
Vice President
University of Chinese Academy of Sciences (UCAS)

Dr Hans Hurni
Prof Emeritus, Senior Scientist
Centre for Development and Environment (CDE), University of Bern
Former Director, National Centre of Competence in Research (NCCR) North-South

Dr Asuncion Lera St. Clair
Senior Principal Scientist, Climate Change
Strategic Research & Innovation
DNV GL – Group Technology and Research

Dr Teresa Christina Fogelberg
Deputy Chief Executive
Global Reporting Initiative (GRI)

Dr Camilla Toulmin
Senior Associate
International Institute for Environment and Development (IIED)

ICIMOD Support Group (as of October 2019)

H.E. Mr Peter Budd (Chairperson, ICIMOD Support Group)
Australian Embassy, Kathmandu