ICIMOD Mountain Prize

Countries Areas included in the HKH region
Afghanistan All provinces except the provinces of Kandahar, Helmand,
Nimroz, Farah, and Herat.
Bangladesh Chittagong Hill Tracts
Bhutan Entire territory
China Parts of the provinces of Yunnan (Diqing, Nujiang, and Dali
prefectures), Sichuan (Ganzi, Aba, and Liangshan
prefectures), and Gansu (Gannan, Wuwei and Zhangye
prefectures); Xinjiang Autonomous Region (Kashigar,
Kezilesu, Hetian, and Altai prefectures); Tibet Autonomous
Region (entire territory); and Qinghai province (entire
India Entire territory of 11 mountain states (Assam, Uttarakhand,
Himachal Pradesh, Manipur, Jammu and Kashmir (Indian
administered area), Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim,
Tripura, Arunachal Pradesh), and Darjeeling district of
West Bengal state
Myanmar Chin, Shan, Rakhine, and Kachin states
Nepal Entire territory
Pakistan Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province, 24 districts (out of 32) of
Balochistan province (excluded districts are Kachhi,
Gwadar, Jafarabad, Jhal Magsi, Lasbela, and Sohbatpur),
Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK), Gilgit-Baltistan. and
Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA)

Sustainable development is defined in many different ways, but the most cited definition is from Our Common Future, also referred to as the Brundtland Report: “Sustainable development is development that meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs.”

About 193 countries have signed on to address the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), of which there are 17 in total, by 2030. The SDGs cover social, economic and environmental issues including poverty, hunger, health, education, climate change, gender equality, water, employment, infrastructure, energy, urbanization, inequality, biodiversity, social justice, and partnership.

Resilience is the ability of communities and ecosystems to be prepared for shocks, recover from shocks, and “bounce forward” to emerge stronger than they were before. To build community resilience means to build a community’s capacity to do just that. Read more

Fields of achievement of the individual, or organization, or company being nominated for the ICIMOD Mountain Prize can be in any of (but not limited to) the following work areas:

  • Access to water for drinkingother productive purposes or sanitation 
  • Gender and social equity 
  • Food or nutrition security  
  • Sustainable production systems  
  • Climate change adaptation  
  • Disaster risk reduction 
  • Access to clean energy 
  • Information and communication technologies for development 
  • Promotion of income generating opportunities or investments 
  • Policy advocacy 
  • Mountain ecosystems or biodiversity management 
  • Community or cultural resilience