The Mountain Partnership

The Mountain Partnership is a United Nations voluntary alliance of partners dedicated to improving the lives of mountain peoples and protecting mountain environments around the world. 

The Mountain Partnership taps into the expertise of its members, in order to stimulate concrete initiatives at all levels that will ensure improved quality of life and environments in the world’s mountain regions. The work is organized under four main pillars: advocacy, joint action, capacity development and communications. 

At present, 57 countries, 14 intergovernmental organizations, 212 major groups from civil society and 5 subnational authorities are members. Membership is open to all entities in the public and private sector that are committed to Chapter 13 of Agenda 21 and the Johannesburg Plan of Implementation. 

The Mountain Partnership is supported by a Secretariat which is hosted by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) in Rome and financed by the Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Swiss Federal Office of Agriculture. 

The work of the Mountain Partnership is guided by a governance and strategy for the period 2014 -2017 that was developed through a consultative process with MP members and finalized in September 2013 during the Fourth Global Meeting of the Mountain Partnership held in Erzurum, Turkey.  

The Steering Committee of the Mountain Partnership provides programmatic orientation to the Mountain Partnership and oversees the preparation of a four-year strategy and a two-year work plan. The 16-member body monitors the work of the Secretariat, the implementation of the ‘Mountain Agenda’ and the achievements and impacts of their respective electoral groups.

The Mountain Partnership was founded in 2002 during the preparatory process of the World Summit on Sustainable Development (WSSD, Johannesburg, South Africa), through a joint effort by the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) and the governments of Italy and Switzerland.

MP Secretariat, Rome, Italy

Thomas Hofer

Rosalaura Romeo
Programme Officer

Giorgio Grussu
Programme Officer

Sara Manuelli
Communication Officer