Integrated watershed management for landslip and stream bank stabilisation

Integrated watershed management as an example for landslip and stream bank stabilisation based on fostering a partnership between community institutions, line agencies, district authorities and consultants

The sustainable management of mountain watersheds is a huge challenge for watershed management programmes due to the lack of collaboration between the various institutions involved. Building of synergies between these institutions is crucial for improved management. The Bagmati Integrated Watershed Management Programme (BIWMP) started in 1986, initiated, coordinated, and organised by the Department of Soil Conservation and Watershed Management with support from the European Commission. The programme aimed to help overcome natural resource degradation and thereby raise the standard of living of the rural population.


  • Lack of institutional capacity and collaboration for managing watershed resources


  • To overcome the constraints to effectively implementing a watershed management programme by building synergies between diverse stakeholder institutions. In the case of landslip and stream bank stabilisation work, the specific objective was to come up with a technology that conserved soil and water whilst also providing direct livelihood benefits to local people.

WOCAT database reference: QA NEP11

Location: Lalitpur, Kathmandu, Makwanpur, Bhaktapur, and Sindhuli districts; Bagmati river basin, Nepal

Approach area: 570 km2

Land use: Wasteland (before), mixed agrosilvopastoral (after)

Climate: Humid subtropical

Related technology: Landslip and stream bank stabilisation, QT NEP11

Target Users: Land users, SWC specialists/extensionists, Planners, Politicians/decision makers, Teachers and students

Compiled by: Dileep Kumar Karna, Department of Soil Conservation and Watershed Management, District Soil Conservation Office, Kathmandu, Nepal

Date: December 2003, updated August 2004

dark green: previous working districts; 

light green: districts in 2007