ICIMOD's Gender Champions 2011 Awarded


ICIMOD’s celebration of  this year’s International Women’s Day marks the inauguration of ICIMOD’s Gender Champions Awards to “honour champions who are making a difference for a gender-positive change within the organisation and beyond in the Hindu Kush-Himalayan region”. Dr Andreas Schild presented the awards to the two Gender Champions selected through Centre wide voting -- Ms Bidya Banmali Pradhan and Mr Muhammad Ismail -- in a programme held to mark the 100th Anniversary of International Women’s Day. Eight runners up were also honoured: Dr Beatrice Murray, Dr Brigitte Hoermann, Dr Dhrupad Choudhury, Mr Dyutiman Choudhary, Ms Jenny Vaidya, Ms Mandira Shrestha, Ms Nira Gurung, and Mr Shekhar Ghimire. The Director General also presented the Award for Best Gender Positive Action Area or Division to the Action Area on ‘Biodiversity Conservation and Management of Environmental Change’. The trophy was received by Dr Nakul Chettri on behalf of the Team.

Ms Bidya Banmali Pradhan receiving the award

Mr Muhammad Ismail receiving the award


BCM team receiving the ‘Gender Champions Award for Best Gender Positive Action Area or Division’