Herbal Profiles Contest Winners

ICIMOD celebrated Second National Conservation Day on 23 September 2010 at a programme jointly organised by Conservation Consortium comprising of WWF, ICIMOD, IUCN, Birds Conservation Nepal, Nepal Forum of Environmental Journalists, National Trust for Nature Conservation, The Mountain Institute, Wildlife Conservation Nepal, Wildlife Watch Group and Environmental Camps for Conservation Awareness at the Nepal Academy hall. The National Conservation Day is celebrated every year since 2008 to pay tribute to the ‘Conservation Heroes’, who had lost their lives in a helicopter accident in Ghunsa, Taplejung on September 23, 2006.

In the programme chaired by Constituent Assembly Chairman, Hon’ble Subas Chandra Nembang, and among many awards, the winners of the Herbal Profile Competition which is the part of the ongoing programme, ‘Promoting Herbal Garden in Schools’ organised jointly by ICIMOD and NTNC were announced. The winners are as follows.


  1. Namuna English School - First
  2. Annal Jyoti Boarding School  - 1st runner up
  3. Rato Bangala School  - 2nd runner up

Special Mentions:

  1. Suryodaya Jyoti Secondary School
  2. Vajra Academy

The winners received cash prizes of Rs 15,000 and 1st runner up and 2nd runner up received Rs 12,000 and Rs 1000 respectively. Two special mentions received Rs 5000 each. They were presented by Mr Juddha Bahadur Gurung, Member and Secretary of the Governing Board of Trustees, NTNC. We congratulate all the winners.



On display at a stall put up by ICIMOD at the Nepal Academy Hall prior to and during the programme were photos of monitoring visits to herbal gardens in 15 schools, Godavari visit, posters of Herbal Recipe competition, Herbal profiles submitted by the participating schools  as well as 10 varieties of herbal plants.  School children along with teachers and our colleagues were there to brief visitors.

Winner: Namuna English School


1st Runner-up: Annal Jyoti Boarding School 


2nd Runner-up: Rato Bangala School


Special Mentions: Suryodaya Jyoti Secondary School


Special Mentions: Vajra Academy