Board of Governors

ICIMOD is governed by a Board of Governors consisting of one representative from each of the eight regional member countries (RMCs) and independent members who are nominated by the ICIMOD Support Group based on their recognized professional expertise and experience. The ICIMOD Support Group is composed of representatives from all the organizations and institutions that provide financial contributions to the Centre, including the regional member countries.

Regional Board Members (as of Jul 2017)

  • Mr Mohammad Rafi Qazizada
    Director General
    Natural Resource Management 
    Ministry of Agriculture, Irrigation and Livestock 
    Islamic Republic of Afghanistan
  • Mr Naba Bikram Kishore Tripura
    Ministry of Chittagong Hill Tracts Affairs 
    Bangladesh Secretariat 
    Government of the People's Republic of Bangladesh
  • Dasho Rinzin Dorji
    (Chairperson, ICIMOD Board of Governors)
    Ministry of Agriculture and Forests 
    Royal Government of Bhutan
  • Prof Ding Zhongli
    Vice President, CAS  
    Chairman of CN-ICIMOD 
    Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) 
    People's Republic of China
  • Mr Ajay Narayan Jha 
    Ministry of Environment, Forests and Climate Change 
    Government of India
  • Dr Nyi Nyi Kyaw
    Director General  
    Ministry of Natural Resources and Environmental Conservation 
    Union of Myanmar
  • Dr Min Bahadur Shrestha 
    National Planning Commission 
    Government of Nepal
  • Mr Muhammad Abid Javed
    Ministry of National Food Security and Research 
    Government of Pakistan

        Independent Board Members (as of Jul 2017)

        • Lyonpo Dr Kinzang Dorji
          Bhutan lndigenous Games and Sports Association (BIGSA)
          Royal Government of Bhutan
        • Dr Margaret Catley-Carlson 
          (Chairperson, PAC and 
          Vice Chairperson, ICIMOD Board of Governors)
          Vancouver, BC, V5Z4L7
        • Dr Yanfen Wang
          Vice President
          University of Chinese Academy of Sciences (UCAS)
        • Dr Thomas Labahn
          Schlassgartenallee 26
          19061 Schwerin
        • Dr Teresa Christina Fogelberg
          Deputy Chief Executive 
          Global Reporting Initiative (GRI)
        • Dr Asuncion Lera St. Clair
          Senior Principal Scientist
          Low Carbon Future
          DNV GL - Strategic Research & Innovation
        • Prof Hans Hurni
          3762 Erlenbach 
        • Dr David James Molden
          Director General 
          Ex officio

        ICIMOD Support Group (as of Jul 2017)

        • H.E. Mr Peter Budd 
          (Chair, ICIMOD Support Group) 
          Australian Embassy, Kathmandu 
        • H.E. Dr Joerg Frieden
          (Vice Chair, ICIMOD Support Group)
          Embassy of Switzerland, Kathmandu