EU Parliamentarians express strong interest in regional cooperation for climate change in the Hindu Kush-Himalayan region

26 May 2010


A group of European Community Parliamentarians called for more focus on transboundary cooperation and links to European research initiatives and institutions at a meeting at the International Centre for Integrated Mountain Development (ICIMOD) earlier today.

The EU Parliamentarians from the South Asia Delegation are in Kathmandu from May 25-29 for the 8th EU-Nepal Interparliamentary Meeting. The six-member delegation is led by British member of the European Parliament Jean Lambert and accompanied by members of the EP Secretariat and the EU Delegation in Nepal. The EU parliamentarians are meeting various political figures and also looking into issues of climate change.

Delegates viewed Khumbu glacier, Everest Base Camp, and the famous glacier and glacial lake at Imja on Tuesday, accompanied by ICIMOD’s Director of Programme Operations, Berend de Groot, and glacier experts Pradeep Mool and Sharad Joshi. This prompted a visit to ICIMOD on Wednesday to learn more about the impacts of climate change and ICIMOD’s work in the region.

Dr Andreas Schild, ICIMOD’s Director General, expressed his great appreciation for the interest of the parliamentarians. He hoped they would take back a clear message to Brussels on the need for international concern about the impacts of climate change in the Himalayas, for research to fill the knowledge gap, and for immediate support to the people of the region for adaptation. On the occasion, the Chair of the Delegation Jean Lambert launched the book ‘Formation of Glacial Lakes in the Hindu Kush-Himalayas and GLOF Risk Assessment’ just published by ICIMOD.

The delegation for relations with South Asia (D-SAS) covers Bangladesh, Bhutan, Sri Lanka, the Maldives, Nepal and Pakistan. It regularly holds interparliamentary meetings in individual countries to share information and help the EP to express an informed view when required by the Treaties.

For further information contact:                   
Ms Nira Gurung
Communications Officer