Celebrating International Biological Diversity Day 2013 – 22 May


The International Day for Biological Diversity was established by the United Nations to increase understanding and awareness of biodiversity issues. When first created by the Second Committee of the UN General Assembly in late 1993, the date 29 December (the date of entry into force of the Convention of Biological Diversity) was officially designated to celebrate the event. It wasn’t until December 2000 that the UN General Assembly changed the date to 22 May, commemorating the adoption of the text of the Convention on Biological Diversity which culminated on 22 May 1992 with the Nairobi Final Act of the Conference for the Adoption of the Agreed Text of the Convention on Biological Diversity. 

The theme for this year is Water and Biodiversity to coincide with the UN-designated International Year of Water Cooperation

ICIMOD celebrates this important day each year, and the following activities are proposed for this year:

Centre Level Activities

National Level Activities

Activities at ICIMOD Headquarters in Nepal, organized with local partner Small Earth Nepal (SEN):

    • Biodiversity knowledge café with 30 students from three public schools from Kathmandu, Bhaktapur and Lalitpur districts. After presentations by experts, students will be given an opportunity to discuss key solutions for conserving biodiversity in the world café style.
    • Flora and fauna identification and sketching. After learning about the flora and fauna in Godavari from key experts, students will go to the field to identify and sketch different species. The best sketches will be selected on the basis of the accuracy of labelling and the quality and awarded prizes and certificates.

    Regional Level Activities

    Activities organized by ICIMOD Pakistan Country Office:

      International Level Activities

      • Participate in The Green Wave Campaign, an international event promoted by the Convention of Biological Diversity among local schools in Afghanistan, Bhutan, Nepal, and Pakistan